Going Down The List: Selector Infected WIXOSS

(MAL LINK)

Selector Infected WIXOSS as well as its sequel, Selector Spread WIXOSS (which sounds more like something you’d put on your toast) is truly the Madoka Magica of the card game genre. Had I not used such an obviously memetic comparison I would have actually been half-serious, because WIXOSS did tick many of the same boxes as Madoka. I imagine most people expected it to not be just about innocent card game playing, and that’s exactly how it turned out. The storylines weren’t necessarily predictable, but I feel like the atmosphere of the show very much was.

GDTL WIXOSS 1

What I did not expect, however, was how much I’d like it. I actually thought the first season of WIXOSS, aside maybe from the way it ended, was really decently composed and directed, and it was an overall enjoyable experience. Well, it had its weaker points like the creepy relationship between Yuzuki and Kazuki, but even then I thought it was mostly competent at what it was trying to do.

GDTL WIXOSS 2

The sequel, though, not so much. I appreciate the fact that it tried to expand upon the mechanics explained in the first season, and it was satisfying to see some actual consequences for once, but as a whole the second season was really confusing. I had a really hard time following it, so much so that I can’t even really remember how it ended up ending. All of that said, I loved the addition of Chiyori and Eldora to the cast. Maybe not in the most serious of ways, part of Eldora’s charm was the fact that she was voiced by Satomi Arai after all, but they were generally really fun to watch. I hope the new series, Lostorage Incited WIXOSS (which is not a direct sequel), has those kinds of elements as well.

2 thoughts on “Going Down The List: Selector Infected WIXOSS

  1. It is rare for me to buy anime. But I own both seasons. I certainly really enjoy this series. I do see the problems it has. The pacing being one problem, the other being it feels like most of the second season could have been condensed to fewer episodes. Either way it was still a fun watch.

  2. I wasn’t much into the first season of WIXOSS but I liked it enough to watch the sequel. I’m enjoying Lostorage more but it still isn’t my favourite. It does what it does well but at its core it has a card game that is never really explained and ultimately you kind of know that you shouldn’t get attached to any character because this is a dark anime so anyone can die (have their memories taken, be replaced by their LRIG, etc) at any moment.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this show.

Leave a Reply

