Going Down The List: Senki Zesshou Symphogear

(MAL LINK)

It’s not a big secret that I love Symphogear a whole lot. If you follow me on twitter, you’ll know that for over a year now (with a few ceremonial exceptions here and there), my avatar has been one or other picture of Yukine Chris, one of the main characters of Symphogear. When I started jogging last year (a routine I unfortunately quit in early 2016), the first songs in my running playlist were songs from Symphogear. Symphogear Summer was a real thing for me, and I will forever cherish the memories of that time.

GDTL Symphogear 1

But what was it about the show that I loved so much? Well, when it comes to the first season, it was at least not the consistency of the art and animation. Looking through my screenshots, the first season actually looks even worse than I remembered. And it’s not even a case of the animation-intensive action scenes looking bad, most of them actually looked pretty good, but there were a few non-action scenes in which the characters just look really wrong (in particular, there’s a shot of Chris in episode 8 where she looks really squished).

GDTL Symphogear 2

But none of that really mattered, I guess, because as I already mentioned above, I loved it. Everything from the songs to the dialogue to the insane plot and characters, it just worked for me, and not even in a “so bad it’s good” kind of way. I just thought it was really fun and enjoyable. The second season, Symphogear G, was a visual upgrade over the first season, but in return I wasn’t as invested in its story. Normally this might have been a deal-breaker for me, but G compensated by adding even more characters, all lovable to varying degrees, my personal favourites being Shirabe and Dr. Ver. And, now that I really think about it, I think the songs in G were better than the ones in season 1.

GDTL Symphogear 3

The third season, Symphogear GX, ended up being something of a disappointment for many people, including me to some extent, but god if it wasn’t fun to watch when it went all-out, such as when Hibiki punches a mountain in the first episode, and the bass-dropping in episode 6. And who can forget the songs proper? G-Beat became an instant favourite of mine, and the Stroganoff song was fantastic in a slightly bizarre and insane kind of way (it wasn’t even an authentic recipe for stroganoff). And even though the ending of GX was pretty anticlimactic compared to season 1 and G (especially season 1), I’m still excited about the already-announced seasons 4 and 5. I don’t know when they will be airing, but I cannot wait!

Leave a Reply

