Going Down The List: Shimoseka

(MAL LINK)

That is, the abbreviation of Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai. According to the list, this post should have been about Shigofumi, but again, I’ve already written about that show, and it’s been so long that I’d probably have less to say about it now than back then. So, instead, I will be writing about this unholy collection of sex jokes and fetishism that aired in Summer 2015.

GDTL Shimoseka 1

At first, I wasn’t planning on picking up Shimoseka, which is why I never included it in my Summer 2015 Preview post. But after the first episode had aired, and I’d seen some insane and absurd screenshots on Twitter, I finally decided to give it a try. And oh how satisfied I was. It had been a long time since the second season of Seitokai Yakuindomo had aired, and I’d been looking for someone that gave me the same feeling. And at first, Shimoseka was perfect. The grossness of the jokes, the euphemisms, the thinly (though thickly enough to avoid censoring) veiled sexual imagery, it was all great. At first, at least.

GDTL Shimoseka 2

Later on, however, after the first or second story arc (I think), the novelty wore off. Mainly, I think this was because the show tried to both be really raunchy and to tell a serious story about a dystopia, and the two aspects of it kind of clashed in unfortunate ways. I also had issues with the sex jokes, because instead of changing it up and having variety, they just increased the grossness of the jokes until they got too gross even for me. And at that point, I couldn’t really enjoy the show anymore. It also didn’t help that I thought the story arc with “White Peak” was really boring, but in the end it was the deteriorating quality of the jokes that prevented me from enjoying the show as much as I enjoyed SYD. It’s a shame.

Leave a Reply

