Going Down The List: Shingeki no Kyojin

(MAL LINK)

Shingeki no Kyojin, approximately equally well known as Attack on Titan, was the first really popular anime that I watched while it was airing. Watch it was in many ways a formative experience, and not just because of the fact that it really gave me something to talk about with other people on the internet. I was very invested in it, to the point where I would routinely stay up until 4 AM on Saturday waiting for the new episode.

GDTL Shingeki no Kyojin 1

I had a lot of fun watching it, but as a formative experience it wasn’t always the most positive. For instance, Attack on Titan was the show that got me used to glacial pacing, repetition, and perpetual cliffhangers. Some of the story arcs were just painfully slow, so much so that it turned me off from actually trying to read the manga, a choice that I’m – in retrospect – satisfied with, because some plot lines have apparently taken years to resolve. Certain episodes also gave me a glimpse at how troubled anime productions can be when the animators don’t get to finish their work on time. Quite an eye-opener, that one.

GDTL Shingeki no Kyojin 2

My memories of Attack on Titan aren’t all bad, though. I still really liked its action, and the soundtrack, and the world-building was also pretty interesting. I’m kind of annoyed that it’s gone so long without a sequel, considering the first season ended with a pretty momentous revelation, but I’ll definitely watch the 2nd season, whenever it actually ends up airing.

One thought on “Going Down The List: Shingeki no Kyojin

  1. Solid points here. Attack on Titan was painfully slow, but what I found even more intolerable at times was the amount of forced melodrama. That combined with a painfully predictable narrative made me put the series on an indefinite hold.

Leave a Reply

