Going Down The List: Shokugeki no Souma

(MAL LINK)

As of the time of writing this, 37 episodes of Shokugeki no Souma have aired. I watched all of them, and I enjoyed all of them. Granted, not as much as I enjoyed the manga – the reveals and twists were more interesting the first time around – but the anime was still really fun. The anime has yet to reach the parts of the story that I’m not a huge fan of, so it’s too early for me to say whether it’s an improvement over the manga or not.

GDTL Shokugeki 1

Because it’s actually kind of difficult to me to make that judgement even though there has been 37 episodes of the anime, the reason being that in my opinion some of the elements work better in manga form and others work better with animation. Specifically, I think the food art looks better in the manga than in the anime (partially due to the fact that the anime is in colour instead of black and white), while some of the reactions are much more entertaining in animated form.

GDTL Shokugeki 2

I don’t know if they’ll be making more of the anime, but I hope so, because overall I’m really happy with the series, even knowing that it will have some weaker story arcs later on.

Leave a Reply

