Going Down The List: Sidonia no Kishi

(MAL LINK)

I think, if I recall correctly, that Sidonia no Kishi (aka Knights of Sidonia) is the only full-CG full-length TV series I’ve finished to date. I even watched the sequel! Now, I’m not sure if this means that Knights of Sidonia is a remarkably good show or that the other CG shows I’ve tried watching have just happened to be really bad, Sidonia was never the most consistent show in my opinion, but I can say that I did enjoy it from time to time.

GDTL Sidonia 1

Mostly, this was because of the battle scenes. From the very beginning, even back when the character animation was dodgy and choppy, it was obvious that a great amount of effort was put into animating the action scenes, and by the end of the first season I thought they were no less than fantastic. Also, I guess it’s worth mentioning that I thought the story and the world were really interesting. That kind of really-out-in-outer-space sci-fi is not that common, at least as far as I know.

GDTL Sidonia 2

Knights of Sidonia was by no means a perfect show, though, which is most clearly exemplified by some of the plot developments in the second season. In particular, I did not care for Tsumugi at all, and I thought what happened to Kunato was both confusing and ultimately stupid. By the end of Season 2 I didn’t really care about the story anymore, but at least the action still looked good. At least it had that.

Leave a Reply

