Going Down The List: Steins;Gate

(MAL LINK)

It’s been a long, long time since I watched Steins;Gate, and I haven’t actually seen it more than once. I’ve forgotten most if not all of the details, as well as the character interactions, but I do remember having some clear opinions on what I thought of the show.

GDTL Steins Gate 1

First of all, Steins;Gate was one of the shows that people hyped to the high heavens when trying to get me to watch it back in 2013. It was touted, at least by some people, as one of the best anime of all time, or at least something close to that. I ended up disagreeing. My biggest complaint was that I didn’t like any of the characters’ roles. I didn’t like Okabe as a chuuni main character, I didn’t like Kurisu as a tsundere and I didn’t like Mayushii as a childhood friend. Daru was the only character whose role I didn’t have a problem with, but then again I didn’t care for him at all, so that probably explains my apathy toward him.

GDTL Steins Gate 2

However, thinking back on things, I did like the characters as just people, disconnected from their roles. I thought Okabe was nuanced and relatable in his insecurity, and I feel like Mayushii’s backstory was good in how simple it was. As for Kurisu, well, she plays a huge part on the actual story side of things, in addition to being tsundere toward Okabe, and I happened to really like the way the story eventually played out. It’s definitely one of the best time travel anime I’ve seen. And that does make me understand why other people are such big fans of it, even though I’m not. All in all, I think it’s a solid show.

One thought on “Going Down The List: Steins;Gate

  1. I love Steins;Gate mostly for the dialogue and character interactions. That and the time travel element doesn’t tie itself into too many knots. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

