Going Down The List: Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C3-bu

(MAL LINK)

After Sabagebu aired, most people probably forgot all about C3-bu. At the very least, I’m pretty sure Sabagebu is now the first anime people think of when hearing the words “airsoft” and “anime”. And probably for good reason. Sabagebu was actually funny, and while it didn’t even really try to focus on story, at least it wasn’t a weird trainwreck like C3-bu. Is C3-bu even worth writing about? I’m not sure, but I’m going to do that anyway.

GDTL Stella Jogakuin 1

When I wrote the above paragraph, I didn’t even remember the weird fantasy world element where Yura is a general or something (I still can’t remember much about it, to be honest). That was probably the cherry on top of the pile of mediocrity that C3-bu was. Sure, some of the characters were entertaining to watch, but the ending with the sudden departure and return of Sonora (at least that’s how I remember it going) was disappointingly anticlimactic.

GDTL Stella Jogakuin 2

The only thing I really liked about the show was the psychological element with Yura. In retrospect, her feelings of inadequacy and depression were pretty relatable, and not completely terribly written.I want to say that’s because someone involved with Gainax still knows what they’re doing (the remake of Houkago no Pleiades reinforced this belief of mine), but I can’t be 100% sure. Anyway, I wouldn’t recommend C3-bu to anyone, but if you’re really into everything airsoft-related and still haven’t seen it, C3-bu might be for you. But if you don’t mind non-seriousness and crazy comedy, I’d recommend Sabagebu instead.

Leave a Reply

