Going Down The List: Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider

(MAL LINK)

NoitaminA shows haven’t been particularly fantastic lately, in my opinion. Well, with the exception of Fune wo Amu (The Great Passage), but I digress, because this post is about one of the not so fantastic shows: Fall 2015’s Subete ga F ni Naru. While not fantastic, however, it was at least a bit different in terms of its story and themes. Being a murder mystery is not that novel, sure, but the slow pace and philosophical discussions set it apart from most other mystery shows I’ve seen (The Monogatari Series probably comes the closest).

GDTL Subete ga F ni Naru 1

An especially interesting point of comparison is Summer 2015’s Ranpo Kitan: Game of Laplace, which was also a philosophically inclined mystery show, but whereas Subete ga F ni Naru really only dealt with one multifaceted mystery and had only limited action, Ranpo Kitan tried to stand out with its episodic stories and eccentric (to say the least) nature, as well as relying a lot on action for the climaxes. And I can pretty comfortably say that I preferred the approach in Subete ga F ni Naru, even if some episodes ended up being moderately boring due to how slowly some of the plot points and details were revealed (but maybe that was the point).

GDTL Subete ga F ni Naru 2

In the end, though, neither Subete ga F ni Naru or Ranpo Kitan ended up being super memorable to me in terms of their story, but the former did have something that did stick with me: The direction. The introduction of Saikawa, some of his conversations with Nishinosono, and particularly the final episode (Saikawa’s conversation with Shiki) made strong impressions on me in terms of just being incredibly interesting to watch, both audiovisually and in terms of the dialogue. As a matter of fact, I feel like rewatching the show now. I probably won’t do it, but it’s rare for shows to suddenly make me feel like that. And I interpret that as a good sign.

One thought on “Going Down The List: Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider

  1. I had such hope for this series before it aired and also after the first episode. But it ended up being really disappointing, boring and stupid at times. I ended up enjoying Sakurako’s Bones more that season.

Leave a Reply

