Winter 2017 First Impressions: Part 4

Hand Shakers

Surprisingly, the visuals ended up being the least of the show’s problems, at least in my opinion. I actually appreciate the attempt to have a really unique art style (even by GoHands standards to some extent, since the character designs don’t look like the ones in SYD and Coppelion), and the animation was certainly ambitious (and occasionally successful). That said, some of the textures were awful, and the “60 fps look” (or smooth-motion look) made my head hurt. Overall, the visuals were so-so.

Winter 2017 Hand Shakers

Hey, at least the backgrounds looked nice.
…at times.

The worst thing about the first episode was the story. It did indeed turn out to be a sci-fi/fantasy battle show with nonsense mechanics, but it also really reminded me of VN adaptations, and that’s generally not a good thing., and especially not in this show. Similarly, the characters did not grab me at all, and I had a hard time caring about any of them. By the end of the episode I didn’t really have any idea what was going on, and I didn’t care. Yeah, I think this will be the first series this season that I end up dropping.

Verdict: I wish I could say it was disappointing, but I kind of expected this.

 


ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka

This premiere didn’t really grab me either, but it was by no means a bad first episode. It’s kind of difficult to explain, but it’s the kind of show where the actual story isn’t immediately obvious. It just starts with the characters going about their daily lives (though not entirely without drama), during which the world and the characters are introduced. And it actually manages to build an interesting premise this way, what with the “internal affairs” investigations and the seemingly unstable political situation.

Winter 2017 ACCA

I like these character designs.

The show, or at least the first episode, also looked good (as did the ED animation), and it sounded fine. I’m not super excited about continuing watching this, but again, it’s a slow season for me so I might as well.

Verdict: Sure, why not?

Leave a Reply

