Winter 2017 First Impressions: Part 5

Aka the finale. I was supposed to be doing first impressions for One Room as well, but I heard that it’s a short show in the same style as Makura no Danshi and AniTore, so I’m not going to bother with it. I’m probably not missing much. So, without further ado, here’s…

Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon

This first episode ended up easily being both funnier and cuter than everything else so far this season. It’s… not KyoAni’s best work, that I will admit, and as a comedy it doesn’t stand out as much as, say, Nichijou, but I already like it a lot more than Phantom World and Amagi Brilliant Park.

Winter 2017 Maidragon

Nope, no sexual tension here. None whatsoever.

It’s also a very interesting show because the main characters are both women, one of whom is pretty explicitly sexually attracted to the other one. Sure, the innuendos and stuff are not new to this show, but the fact that they’re laid bare immediately without any heteronormative overtones from male characters is intriguing to me, and it’s also very welcome. The humour is not always super cute, though, it can be pretty gross too (the tail steak), but then again I don’t remember this show being marketed as being kid-friendly. I think it’s good as it is.

Verdict: Great premiere. Very funny and cute.

Leave a Reply

