Going Down The List: Suisei no Gargantia

(MAL LINK)

Suisei no Gargantia was one of the first anime that I watched weekly from start to finish while it was airing. It was also my first mecha show. I’ll fully admit that I picked it up only because I heard Gen Urobuchi was working on it (I had recently watched Madoka for the first time), as I wasn’t really interested in mecha or sci-fi in general at the time. The show quickly charmed me with its cast of characters and the visuals of the setting, though, so I forgot about the story kind of quickly.

GDTL Suisei no Gargantia 1

Which was probably for the best, because as it turns out, the large scale story and conflict as well as the “plot twist” didn’t really do much for me, a disappointment that I would re-experience a year later with Aldnoah Zero. Unlike Aldnoah Zero, though, Gargantia had loveable characters and an interesting world, and that was enough to keep my interest throughout the entire TV series and the 2 OVA episodes. I must, however, mention that one episode with the tasteless jokes about homosexuals, crossdressing and/or trans people. At the time it didn’t stick with me as much as it did with other people, but I remember it not being very funny.

GDTL Suisei no Gargantia 2

And I think that’s something that needs to be remembered. In the end I still liked the show for the most part, and I would recommend it to other people, but I think it’s sad that that one scene exists. Cheap laughs at the expense of LGBT people is not something I want out of my anime, and I hope that the industry is constantly moving in a better direction now. Sure, the tasteless jokes show up in many anime still, but at least they don’t show up as often in shows that I actually like. Anyway, I felt like that needed to be said. All in all, I think Gargantia is a pretty good show.

One thought on “Going Down The List: Suisei no Gargantia

  1. I quite enjoyed this anime. It was fairly forgettable but while watching it, it was amusing enough. There are some genuinely good moments in it but nothing really stand out. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

