Winter 2017 Spotlight: OP and ED of the Season

I had some preconceptions about possible choices before I started writing this post. At first I expected that picking the winners would be difficult due to a sheer lack of good options (because I’m watching so few shows right now), but this turned out to be wrong. Then I thought that the choice would be easy due to there only being a few good theme songs this season, but after a bit of thinking, I realised that was incorrect too. There are actually several OPs and EDs that are so good in their own ways that it’s genuinely difficult for me to choose between them. But let’s try anyway!

OP of the Season: Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu Sukeroku Futatabi-hen

“Imawa no Shinigami” by Megumi Hayashibara

I initially wanted to disqualify Rakugo from this category due to the fact that the first season won this category last year, but then I realised that I couldn’t do that. The other top options – Little Witch Academia, ACCA, MaiDragon and Kuzu no Honkai – all have very good OPs, but none of them really wowed me (aside maybe from MaiDragon, because KyoAni keep making great OPs). And I guess the OP of Rakugo S2 wouldn’t have impressed me that much either had it not been for the existence of the first season.

Winter 2017 Spotlight Rakugo

I really liked the OP of S1, but when I wrote about it last year I didn’t really understand what it was about because I didn’t have a lot of context yet. The OP of S2, though, contains a lot of metaphors and symbols that actually make sense to me because I’ve seen the first season. And that’s why it’s just so enjoyable to watch that I have to pick it as my favourite of the season. Though I guess it also helps that I like Megumi Hayashibara’s voice.

 


ED of the Season: Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon

“Ishukan Communication” by Choro-gonzu

In contrast to OPs in general, I’m rarely wowed by anime EDs. I almost never skip them, but most of the time I watch them with only one eye while browsing Twitter. This is why the traditional kinds of EDs, with calmer music, “less” animation and often lots of static images don’t stick with me for very long, no matter how impressive they may be in their own right (ACCA, Little Witch Academia and Rakugo fall into this category this season).

Winter 2017 Spotlight MaiDragon

Kuzu no Honkai and MaiDragon proved to be the exceptions this season. The former has a cool song by Sayuri (who I’m a big fan of) and mirrored and kaleidoscope-like paintings that remind me of Mathemagics from Owarimonogatari, while the latter has a very upbeat and catchy song sung by the eponymous dragons of the show and a lot of different cute visuals. In the end, MaiDragon wins out because the ED is just too fun to watch and (badly) sing along to. Kuzu no Honkai definitely gets a honourable mention though.

Leave a Reply

