Going Down The List: Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo

(MAL LINK)

In the long run, Yamada-kun and the 7 Witches was not a very memorable show. Most people stopped talking about it shortly after the anime finished airing in June-July 2015, and I haven’t seen many resurgences in the fandom since. And I guess that makes some sense, because in this age of novelty and uniqueness Yamada-kun was a pretty standard school romantic comedy. Not that it had deep romantic relationships, but it had kissing and stuff because of the magic system, which I think qualifies it as a romcom.

GDTL Yamada-kun 1

Though it was neither novel nor unique in its story, it did stand out when it came to its looks and its sound. When it comes to the latter, what I mean is that I really liked the OP and the ED to the point where they still get stuck in my head from time to time. As for the looks, well, I liked the art style overall but my favourite thing was the tartan patterns in a majority of the outfits. I never did figure out why this particular style was chosen, but a reasonable guess would be that the original mangaka likes it.

GDTL Yamada-kun 2

To be completely honest, I wish I could say more about this show, because while I can’t remember many details, I can remember really enjoying it every week. Something must have made it stand out among other romcoms, even in terms of the story, despite the fact that it didn’t feel very¬†outstanding.

Leave a Reply

