Summer 2017 First Impressions: Part 5

Hitorijime My Hero

This is a story about a delinquent high schooler who used to hang out in bad company. The bad company finds him once again just as he starts high school, but fortunately he is bailed out by a tough teacher. He starts considering this teacher his hero. And according to the synopsis, he eventually even starts having feelings for him.

Summer 2017 Hitorijime My Hero

Tbh I’d probably fall in love too.

It’s kind of unusual for a synopsis to even implicitly tell of romance between two men, so I’m very interested in seeing where this show will go. Visually and humour-wise, it’s not the most impressive show ever, but it’s not bad either.

 


Vatican Kiseki Chousakan

I was originally wondering in what kind of direction this show would be going with its premise, but it seems like it’s just going to be another occult detective kind of show. This is not a bad thing in itself, but the show (or at least the first episode) also manages to be really boring in general. The story is not super confusing, though neither is it very clear, but the direction feels very haphazard. A lot of things happen in the first episode, but due to how they’re framed, it’s very hard to follow the progression of the events.

Summer 2017 Vatican Kiseki Chousakan

There is no context for this.

The only really interesting thing about the show is the Catholic focus which, while probably not something you should use as reference material when studying Catholicism, is a pretty novel real world-based element, at least in my opinion. Anyway, I’ll give the show one more episode.

 


Made in Abyss

This is by far my favourite premiere of the season, at least so far. The fantasy world feels and looks wonderful, I like the character designs, the focus on excavation/tomb raiding/whatever you want to call it is super interesting, and the opening scene was extremely well-directed, to the point where it felt like it came out of a movie. This has the potential to be a really great fantasy show.

Summer 2017 Made in Abyss

This shot is just one of many that I absolutely adore.

There is one problem, however. There are a few references in the first episode about children being tortured, gruesomely, and apparently this is something that is explicitly shown in the source manga. If this part of the manga makes it into the anime, I don’t think I can continue watching, but fortunately there’s no rule saying that anime adaptations have to be faithful to the source material, so I’m hoping for the best. For now, though, I will happily continue watching this show.

One thought on “Summer 2017 First Impressions: Part 5

  1. I’m not at all familiar with the Made in Abyss manga and would like to keep it that way, so based purely on the premiere, I’d definitely agree its easily the best new show of the season so far. I’m really excited to see more of it.

Leave a Reply

