Summer 2017 First Impressions: Part 7

Centaur no Nayami

This is it, this is the show that will fill my moe quota for the season. Aside from the scene with the boy committing election fraud in order to trick a girl into kissing him (I realise that may not sound like it makes much sense), the whole first episode was very sweet, cute and funny. I also like the fact that the characters are, well, not hominids, because it opens up a whole new world of possibilities when it comes to characterisation and conflict. I’m also glad that this show seems to be portraying this aspect more wholesomely than Monster Musume.

Summer 2017 Centaur no Nayami

Cute floppy ears.

There was some (maybe well-founded) concern about the animation quality of the show because it’s being animated by Haoliners Animation, but I didn’t find much to complain about in the first episode. Yeah, it’s not fantastic-looking, but it’s not bad either. It’s good enough for me.

 


New Game!!

New Game is back, and dare I say it’s better than ever. Or, at least, this first episode was. Whereas the first season was driven by story and character introductions, the first episode of the second season was basically unadulterated fanservice. And as a fan, that’s all I ever wanted out of it. I imagine there will be a game-development story later on, and it’ll probably be pretty good, but that’s not why I’m here. I’m here for great and funny animation and characters, and I got a lot of that in the first episode.

Summer 2017 New Game

Nene is back too!

 


Clione no Akari

I… don’t understand this show. The episodes are only 9 minutes long. There are no genres listed. The title makes it sound like a fantasy show, but there was no indication of that in the first episode. The first episode focused on school bullying but, while I appreciate the subject matter being brought up, I don’t really get why. Based on the synopsis it seems to be a setup for the rest of the story, but it didn’t really feel purposeful to me. In fact, the entire first episode felt void of motive or purpose. I’ll continue watching the show, but I don’t really understand what it’s about.

Summer 2017 Clione no Akari

For some reason this shot reminds me of mid-00s mecha shows.

Leave a Reply

