Fall 2017 First Impressions: Part 8

Mahoutsukai no Yome

I finished watching the 3 OVAs of this series last Friday, so just in time for the TV show to start. I really liked the OVA, but I also realise that it told sort of a prequel story that might not impact the events of the TV show a lot (aside from Chise’s background in general, that is). I also really liked how the OVA looked, but I also knew not to expect the TV show to look as refined. And it didn’t, but in my opinion it still looked really good for a TV anime. I guess that’s the effect that nice character designs, backgrounds and art style in general have.

Fall 2017 Mahoyome

Large skull dad can be cute too.

Story-wise, Chise’s background invites many comparisons to the titular character of Natsume Yuujinchou, as does the main story in the first episode. As I’m a huge fan of Natsume, this is a great thing, and I hope this show keeps having Natsume-like episodes in the future as well, even if the main story will probably be somewhat different (not that I’d know, though, because I haven’t read the manga).

Verdict: Really liked it. Continuing for sure.

 


Land of the Lustrous

I was not originally planning on picking this show up, but after hearing people whisper (and/or yell) about how good it is, I decided to watch the first episode. Having seen a few screenshots here and there in advance, I expected some nice-looking background designs, but I did not expect to be wowed so completely. This is my favourite-looking show of the season so far, in part because of the backgrounds but also because of the CGI. It looks very unlike anything I’ve seen before, and in a 100% good way.

Fall 2017 Land of the Lustrous

This is the most interesting kind of body horror I’ve seen in a while.

I was also surprised to like the story and setting, which feels very new to me. I at least don’t remember watching another show about sentient gemstones (I will watch Steven Universe eventually, I promise) that are ranked according to their Mohs hardness values. This results in some unusual rules when it comes to fighting and survival in the world in question, so I’m interested in seeing where it goes from here.

Verdict: Super cool-looking. One of my favourites so far.

Leave a Reply

