Fall 2017 First Impressions: Part 10

Children of the Whales

This is a good-looking show, and one with an interesting setting. The premise of an island floating around in an endless sea reminds me of Suisei no Gargantia, as does the plot point of a mysterious newcomer. These could be very good things, I guess. Unfortunately, that’s about as far as the good things go. Not that the rest of the show is bad, but… it didn’t wow me either. I was barely able to concentrate on watching most parts of the episode.

Fall 2017 Children of the Whales

I am impressed by how good this show looks.

That said, I have no real reason to drop it yet. It still looks good, and I still like it visually. I might watch a few more episodes.

Verdict: Good-looking and interesting story-wise, but otherwise not that impressive.

 


Kekkai Sensen & Beyond

This first episode genuinely surprised me. I wasn’t a huge fan of the straight-from-manga-adapted episodes of the original show, and after learning that Rie Matsumoto wouldn’t be directing the sequel, I feared that the sequel would be just those kinds of episodes and none of the really spectacular ones from the first season.

Fall 2017 Kekkai Sensen

I forgot about this guy, but I guess he makes the show more action-filled.

And, I mean, that turned out to be the case, at least with the first episode. This wasn’t a strongly thematic and symbolic story, it was just like most of the episodes of the first season. And I thought I’d dislike that, but to my surprise I didn’t. I really enjoyed this first episode. It was good and fun and action-filled. Subsequent episodes will probably not be as bombastic, but I can deal with that, as long as it keeps being fun.

Verdict: Liked it surprisingly much. Definitely continuing.

Leave a Reply

